Which cereals are vegan?

What Cereals Are Vegan

Which cereals are vegan?

Which cereals are vegan?

Source: womanandhome

Cereal is such a typical and easy breakfast to satisfy those morning cravings. If you are vegan, you have a variety of options for milk instead of cow. There is oat, soy, almond, rice, coconut, hemp, cashew, etc. 

We can go into more detail later to determine which milk is perfect for your vegan cereal! For now, let’s answer the question, “What cereals are vegan?

You probably wouldn’t expect there to be many non-vegan cereal types, but there are more than you might think. Of course, the most common ingredients to look out for would be milk and honey. 

As for other ingredients, brands like Kellogg’s use sheep’s wool for their vitamin D. This is scary because you might not expect that in cereal!

No, worries Plant Sumo is here to help you find vegan cereals to start your morning off right. 

Vegan Cereals

Source: vegansfirst

Here is a quick list of popular vegan breakfast cereals that you can find at your local store. 

  1. Oatibix, Oatibix Flakes
  2. Cheerios Low Sugar
  3. Country Crisp Chunky Nuts, Raisin, Strawberry
  4. Shreddies
  5. Weetabix banana, chocolate, chocolate chip 
  6. Simply Oat Granola 
  7. Simply Nutty Museli 
Vegan Cereals

What to avoid in Vegan Cereals

What to avoid in Vegan Cereals

Source: ecowatch

According to Healthline:  “Veganism is currently defined as a way of living that attempts to exclude all forms of animal exploitation and cruelty, be it from food, clothing, or any other purpose.”

If you take this definition of veganism, you could argue that vegans should do all they can to exclude animal exploitation – including staying away from fruit and vegetable farming practices that could contain dead insects, even if they have been dissolved in the process.

In the case of figs, technically, figs aren’t vegan because they could contain a wasp.

However, this isn’t the whole story…

Vitamin D

Vitamin D is essential, and many individuals lack this vitamin. Due to this, vitamin D is added to foods like cereal. 

Vitamin D2 comes from plants which is what vegans should look for. Vitamin D3 comes from animals which are typically in the form of lanolin(sheep’s wool).

Unfortunately, D2 & D3 are not listed on vegan breakfast cereals it just says Vitamin D. If you are very strict about this, then it is suggested to avoid all cereals that contain Vitamin D. If you don’t mind, then you can choose to consume small amounts based on your preferences. 


Honey has held quite the debate in the vegan community. Some have argued that honey can be harvested or obtained without harming bees and the environment. 

This is not true for all honey production because we have seen harmful reports from specific production methods. But some beekeepers and communities try very hard not to harm the bees. 

Honey does come down to preference. It is the individual’s decision whether or not they want to consume honey.


Some vegan breakfast cereals state ‘vegan’ on the label, but this is not always the case. If you don’t see the label, then you would have to check the ingredients. 

Look for bold text. Typically any milk products will be bolded for allergy reasons, and you can quickly identify these ingredients. 

‘May Contain Milk.’ if any ingredients say may contain this is also for allergy reasons. During the production process, there could be cross-contamination. Thus, it is safer to list it as ‘may contain’ because it is better to be safe and warn the consumer. 

You can choose to avoid a cereal that says ‘ may contain’, but it is your preference. 

Which milk options are suitable for Vegans?

Which milk options are suitable for Vegans?

Source: thespruceeats

Vegans will use plant-based milk for their vegan cereal! I mentioned a list earlier, but I wanted to go over them.

Almond Milk

Almond milk is one of the popular kinds of milk to use with vegan cereal. There is a nutty taste which is good with granola cereal. This milk has fewer calories and holds less protein

There is a small amount of unsaturated fat. The nutrient level can vary on the type of almond milk. It is typically diluted with water which will contain fewer nutrients but can be a rich source of calcium if homemade. 

Cashew Milk

Cashew milk is starting to become more popular. It also has a bit of a nutty taste but is being used for cooking and baking. If you are not a fan of the nut flavour, I wouldn’t recommend this milk for your cereal, but it is suitable for baking. Aside from baking, cashew milk can be used with coffee to make sweet lattes. 

Coconut Milk

I haven’t seen coconut milk used too much in cereal, but it is an option. It is better for those who don’t want nutty flavoured milk. Coconut milk is also standard in smoothies, chia seed pudding, baking, and cooking. 

Oat Milk

Oat milk is a lot more familiar with vegan cereals because it is slightly sweet and similar to low-fat milk. The positive effects help with many gastrointestinal problems and lowering cholesterol. This milk has a lot more benefits for the body and is easy to drink without cereal. 


Vegan Cereals are out there, it is just a bit challenging to look at. If you have a favourite cereal brand, I will do some research before buying to be on the safe side. 

When it comes to milk, it is all about preferences in terms of flavouring. I don’t like almond milk ice cream, but I like it with my cereal. You might have to sample a few with some of your favourite vegan cereal. You can check out this recommended list of places to buy vegan food in London for more vegan options.  

About the Author

Celeste PS

My name is Celeste. I am a student at Austin College. I am currently pursuing a business degree and interested in entrepreneurship. Before my career, I hope to get the chance to travel internationally.