Plant Sumo is taking things to the next level! We have talked about vegan chocolate, vegan cheese, even vegan biscuits! Now we are talking about vegan marshmallows.
The gooey texture is unlike anything and is something you don’t want to miss out on.
This recipe is inspired by “The Hidden Veggies” their – Vegan Marshmallow Recipe, which has 16 servings! Each marshmallow is 20 calories and can be flavoured to your liking!
Let’s jump into the vegan marshmallow recipe, followed by some tips and how to flavour your fluffy marshmallows.
Here is an easy-to-make vegan marshmallow recipe. You won’t need any fancy tools. The most would probably be an electric stand mixer. You can use a hand mixer; it will just take a bit more time.
I have held you back long enough. Now we can talk about the ingredients.
Vanilla “The Standard Marshmallow”: The standard marshmallow contains vanilla extract. It is added for sweetness but rarely enough to taste like vanilla – if that is a concern. If you do want vanilla flavouring, just add more vanilla extract than the suggested amount.
Peppermint Marshmallows: Instead of using vanilla extract, you can add a drop of peppermint oil.
Strawberry Marshmallows: Chop dehydrated strawberries until it becomes a powder. You can use a blender or food processor. Add 2 tbsp of the strawberry powder to the aquafaba towards the end of the beating. Then you can mix another tbsp in with the powdered sugar for dusting the marshmallows for pink dust, but this is optional.
Chocolate Marshmallows: Towards the end of beating the aquafaba, add 2tbsp of cocoa powder. Add another tbsp of cocoa powder to the powder sugar to dust the tops of the marshmallows.
All you need to do is place them in an airtight container in the fridge. They will be good for about 5 days!
Vegan marshmallows can be hard to find sometimes, so you don’t want to miss out on the action.
The satisfaction of making something and enjoying it is unreal! You can make these marshmallows with family, friends, etc., so that everyone can enjoy them. It is excellent to find some at the store, by why not bond over making these fluffy goodies!
Vegan marshmallows don’t include gelatin and are okay to eat. To see how to make vegan marshmallows without gelatin you need a substitute that will create the texture.
Regular marshmallows include gelatin which makes them not vegan. In a vegan marshmallow recipe, the substitute is tapioca sugar & starch.
My name is Celeste. I am a student at Austin College. I am currently pursuing a business degree and interested in entrepreneurship. Before my career, I hope to get the chance to travel internationally.